Weeks 18 & 19 – Intertwined

A couple weekends ago I had the pleasure of attending a beautiful wedding. This happened to be the wedding of Benja’s brother, David. When he first invited me to this, I was taken aback. Usually invitations to weddings for significant others are reserved for after they have been dating for a long period of time. At least, that is how it usually works in the United States. Naturally I was surprised when both Benja and his brother wanted me to attend the wedding, but equally as glad that they wanted me there.

 

The big day was upon us and I headed to Benja’s house bright and early to get ready. If you were to look at the distance on a map, his house doesn’t seem too far when it is only 12 miles away. Despite being only 20 minutes by car, I do not have that luxury here and must take public transit almost everywhere I go. If you can believe it, the journey can take anywhere from 50 minutes to an hour and a half, not to mention the time you spend waiting for that specific bus.

 

Naturally I left late and waited for a half hour for the bus. Thankfully the ride was on the shorter side and the wedding did not start until four in the afternoon. Like many things that happen here, I really never know when we need to be ready by since no one bothers to tell me. So I decided it would just be best if I got ready right away and then help out anyone else who needed it. For those of you who know me well, you know I tend to move slowly. Now imagine me being the one who is ready and watching everyone else scramble around almost the entire time I was there.

 

The only thing I ended up helping with was doing his mom’s hair. I was happy that she trusted me with a hot iron and to do a good job with her hair. Granted, I just had curled my own hair, but I know that everyone likes his or her hair done in a particular way. So when she was happy with it in the end, I was happy as well. It reminded me of the morning of my sister’s wedding and curling her hair. It was the least I could do.

 

Other people were coming and going throughout the day. Some were there to help others get ready, and some were there to accompany David and his parents to the wedding venue. Benja and I were to wait for his cousin and his spouse. Now, being here for four months I have come to learn that most Chileans are late to most things. But I was flabbergasted when it kept getting later and we were still at the house when the wedding was scheduled to start. Benja didn’t seem to be as preoccupied with it as I was, but this was his only brother’s wedding that we were showing up late to! Seeing as how my sister’s wedding was all very timely and planned, having something very different than that was and is foreign to me.

 

Luckily they didn’t start the ceremony until after we got there. It was a beautiful little venue and the weather was glorious. Everything and everyone looked beautiful. What threw me off was that there was no bridal party accompanying the bride and groom. Additionally, I was a bit taken aback when people were standing up during the ceremony and taking pictures with their phones. Part of me wanted to scream at the to sit down and enjoy the ceremony. But as with most things, I have learned to accept that just because something is different does not mean that it is bad. Right after the ceremony was some time spent outside conversing, eating, and drinking. I met many of Benja and David’s family and friends throughout this time and the rest of the night. I explained who I was, why I was here, and how Benja and I met. It was strange telling these people I had never met before about my relationship but I rolled with it. After all, I bet it was a big deal and a big statement for Benja to bring me to his brother’s wedding.

IMG_4990.jpg

IMG_4992.jpg

After a beautiful evening of sharing time and laughs together, dancing, and eating, the night came to a close at midnight. The final guests headed home with full hearts and tired bodies. I couldn’t wait to get some sleep before my week ahead of me.

 

This past week was one of my busiest weeks of the semester, seeing as all of my classes were coming to a close. One of my four classes had already finished in a previous week, so only three of my classes remained. One only required a small written reflection of the course. What stood between me and six weeks of academic freedom were two exams. If you think exams are tough normally, think of those same exams in your second language. Thankfully after much studying they all went very well and I ended the week exhausted and content.

IMG_5009
One of the campuses of La Catolica 

That same Thursday I ended my exams, the group that made much of my experience here in Chile worth so much more than I could imagine was also coming to an end for the year. El Oasis had their last event this past Thursday and it was hard to come to terms with the fact that this was the last I would be seeing some of the friends I had made during my time there. It was a beautiful night of worshiping and learning about the Lord one final time this semester with some of the best people around. I didn’t know how much this group of people would help me and change my experience for the better here from when I first stepped through their door. Despite the fact that I will soon be 5,000 miles from these friends, I do not believe this will be my last time seeing them. My hope is to come back and visit sometime in the future.

ElOasis2015

The following morning I set off for my final trip of the semester. My program and I went to the town of Colchagua, know for its vineyards and local costal towns. It has a Mediterranean climate that provides for the perfect environment for its vineyards and many additional crops and fruits. We toured much of this area and the town of Pichilemu by bike. We visited a museum, went to the beach, did wine testing at a local vineyard, and kayaked in a local river. It was an exhausting but fun weekend. It was a bit strange to think this was the last time I would be seeing much of my American friends in this setting.

IMG_5072.JPG

Bittersweet as it is coming to a close on my experience here, I have to stay present. I will enjoy my remaining time here to the best of my abilities. Becoming intertwined with the culture, my host family, my American friends, my Chilean and Oasis friends, and especially now my boyfriend has been one wild and crazy adventure. They all will make leaving so much harder, but how beautiful it is to have something that makes saying “goodbye” so hard. Some would have advised me to not become so intertwined, but that would be telling me not to be myself. My heart is so happy with what the Lord has had in store for me here. I am glad I overcame my original hesitation and came here. I don’t have a way to give that much gratitude.

 

This week I ask you to pray for my remaining time in Chile, that it may be spent enjoying the city and spending time with those I love so dearly. I ask you to pray for my transition back home and that it may go well. I ask that you pray for my relationship and that we may continue seeking God together and helping each other grow no matter what the distance may be. I also ask you to pray for the health of my boyfriend, my aunt and uncle, and my grandma and that God may heal their physical aliments and continue to grant them peace. I ask you to pray for peace in the world and the many places in our world where there is division and hate.
Thank you all so much for whatever role you have played in my life. Whether it has been big or small, I appreciate the impact you have had. I hope you all have a wonderful week, and I will be seeing many of you in only a few short weeks. Blessings to you all!

 

Much love,

 

Becca

 

 

Leave a comment